iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

Toto byl exkluzivní „zvukový bar“ společnosti Apple: prodával se velmi málo, ale dnes je na eBay

Apple has been around longer than you think in the world of hi-fi. There was an Apple speaker many years before the HomePod, which coincidentally has just

Spotify je bezkonkurenční v propojené domácnosti: to je funkce, která ho staví mílovými kroky před konkurencí

Colors and streaming services are for everyone: Spotify, YouTube Music, Apple Music, Amazon Music... they all have their differences and similarities, but if

Vytápění domu svíčkami za méně než 50 centů denně: co je zimní metoda a proč to není dobrý nápad

With the cold waves typical of the time and the price of fuels, it is normal for us to sharpen our ingenuity in search of solutions to have a comfortable

Mám doma neutrální router na vylepšení Wi-Fi sítě a při změně operátora jsem zjistil špatnou zprávu

A few hours ago we have seen the differences that exist between the routers of the operators and the neutral models that we can find in stores. And if I have

Jak změnit kurzor myši ve Wordu? – Přizpůsobte si ukazatel

Po letech, kdy jsem viděl ukazatel Wordu ve formě šipky. Nyní můžeme změnit jeho tvar, barvu, velikost a další. Buď se stejnými nástroji jako