Google Photos stops spying on your location: you will have the option to allow it to save it


The photos that are synchronized with the cloud include location data, but only if the mobile camera app is configured like this (it usually asks for permission on first opening). Google Photos managed to get the location in all cases by dint of spying on location history, something it will no longer do. A notice will appear in all apps.

Every time you take a photo with your phone you have the option of adding the exact location where you took the image thanks to EXIF data, some metadata associated with each photographic file. If you turned on location, and then synced the camera roll with Google Photos, the cloud will record the places as part of the image data. If the metadata was not associated, Google estimated it with the location history of Android; process that ceases to exist.

Location is now completely optional

Notice from Google Photos to allow or not the estimated location

By default, each Android with Google apps records the places where the owner of the phone passes in the location history, a list that can be consulted from the Google account. This location history can be deactivated, although it does not stop recording the location: Google has already been caught recording such private data without the user’s knowledge.

The best alternatives to Google Photos to make an automatic backup of mobile photos


The aforementioned location history, which can be viewed through the “Google Maps Timeline”, is also used in Google Photos: the cloud uses this user information to assign an estimated location to each image that does not have EXIF location data associated with it. With the recent change, Google abandons the use of said information, as specified by the company on its support page.

With the abandonment of the location history to estimate the shooting places of each image, Google Photos will lose that information as long as the user does not configure the camera app on their mobile to save the location. Although yes, Google reserves an ace up its sleeve: its AI.

Google Photos Places Current appearance of location registration in Google Photos

As of today, December 7, Google Photos will show a notice so that the user of the platform consent to the estimation of locations based on image analysis. Google’s AI can figure out where each photo was taken by checking the buildings that appear in the image, any text that may be left in the background, and other elements; a process that is optional: it will be the user of Google Photos who accepts this intelligent spying on their content.

If you didn’t turn on location in the camera app, and you deny Google Photos permission to analyze your images, they won’t have locations in your backup

The consent notice will appear in all Google Photos apps. In case you reject it, Google won’t store locations of those photos that are synced without the included location tag.

More information | Google

Via | Android World


Related News

Überwachen Sie Ihr Auto online mit diesem kleinen Gerät

Die größte Angst, die wir haben, wenn wir unser Auto verlassen, ist, dass es gestohlen wird. Die Diebe sind immer wachsam, um jeden Fehler auszunutzen und unser Fahrzeug zu stehlen.

Was tun, um diesen Winter mit der Elektroheizung zu sparen?

Eine effiziente Heizung in unserem Haus ist unerlässlich, um den ganzen Winter über viel Geld zu sparen. Es ist nicht nur sehr wichtig, unser Haus richtig zu isolieren,

Smarter Luftentfeuchter, ist er wirklich gut für etwas?

Wenn Sie an einem Ort leben, an dem die Luftfeuchtigkeit konstant ist, werden Sie bemerkt haben, wie unangenehm es ist und wie es sich zu Hause ansammelt. Eine der Zauberformeln für

Woher weiß ich, ob ich in Bizum betrogen wurde? Vermeiden Sie Betrug mit diesen Tipps

Wir sind uns alle einig, dass Bizum eine der besten Erfindungen der letzten Jahre war. Es ist nicht nur gelungen, einen Freund davon abzuhalten, ohne die Rechnung zu bezahlen,

So löschen Sie den Cache von Google Drive und gewinnen verschwendeten Speicherplatz zurück

Wie die meisten Apps und Websites verfügt Google Drive über einen Datencache, den es verwendet, um Ihre zuletzt aufgerufenen Informationen schnell zu laden. Und wenn Sie Google verwenden

Ein Flash-Laufwerk kann Ihr schlimmster Feind sein; das kann dir passieren

Verwenden Sie ein Flash-Laufwerk, es ist etwas sehr Häufiges. Zum Beispiel, um in ein Geschäft zu gehen, um ein Dokument zu drucken, einige Dateien an eine andere Person zu übertragen oder sogar Daten zu übertragen