Google Photos stops spying on your location: you will have the option to allow it to save it


The photos that are synchronized with the cloud include location data, but only if the mobile camera app is configured like this (it usually asks for permission on first opening). Google Photos managed to get the location in all cases by dint of spying on location history, something it will no longer do. A notice will appear in all apps.

Every time you take a photo with your phone you have the option of adding the exact location where you took the image thanks to EXIF data, some metadata associated with each photographic file. If you turned on location, and then synced the camera roll with Google Photos, the cloud will record the places as part of the image data. If the metadata was not associated, Google estimated it with the location history of Android; process that ceases to exist.

Location is now completely optional

Notice from Google Photos to allow or not the estimated location

By default, each Android with Google apps records the places where the owner of the phone passes in the location history, a list that can be consulted from the Google account. This location history can be deactivated, although it does not stop recording the location: Google has already been caught recording such private data without the user’s knowledge.

The best alternatives to Google Photos to make an automatic backup of mobile photos


The aforementioned location history, which can be viewed through the “Google Maps Timeline”, is also used in Google Photos: the cloud uses this user information to assign an estimated location to each image that does not have EXIF location data associated with it. With the recent change, Google abandons the use of said information, as specified by the company on its support page.

With the abandonment of the location history to estimate the shooting places of each image, Google Photos will lose that information as long as the user does not configure the camera app on their mobile to save the location. Although yes, Google reserves an ace up its sleeve: its AI.

Google Photos Places Current appearance of location registration in Google Photos

As of today, December 7, Google Photos will show a notice so that the user of the platform consent to the estimation of locations based on image analysis. Google’s AI can figure out where each photo was taken by checking the buildings that appear in the image, any text that may be left in the background, and other elements; a process that is optional: it will be the user of Google Photos who accepts this intelligent spying on their content.

If you didn’t turn on location in the camera app, and you deny Google Photos permission to analyze your images, they won’t have locations in your backup

The consent notice will appear in all Google Photos apps. In case you reject it, Google won’t store locations of those photos that are synced without the included location tag.

More information | Google

Via | Android World


Related News

Why we can call 112 without a SIM card and other curiosities of the emergency telephone number

Within the so-called numbers of social interest, the best known is, without a doubt, 112, which in Spain is served by the Autonomous Communities. These three

Give an original touch to your Telegram group with these names

When you create a group on Telegram, one of the most important things is the name to place, but creativity does not always help us, and if you want an

WhatsApp msgstore file: what does it contain and how to open it?

The WhatsApp and backups is quite a drama. The messaging app is very restrictive with this topic, because Android users are only allowed to save a backup of