iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

War in Ukraine: Epic Games will donate part of Fortnite’s revenues

Following the tragic events related to the war in Ukraine which broke out a few weeks ago after the invasion of Russia, many companies, in their own small

Incredible GameStop: Elden Ring with 15 euros discount, Horizon Forbidden West PS5 at less than 50 euros and many super discounts!

Super discounts for a very short time from GameStop, which thanks to a series of codes allows you to make your own great games at the sale price. On the

Huawei MatePad (2022): features and price of the tablet in Peru

huawei has launched its new hybrid tablet in Peru, the Huawei MatePad (2022), a device that will allow you to carry out not only your office activities, but

PS4 Players Just Got a Big Freebie

PS4 players just got a major freebie, courtesy of PlayStation and one of the most popular streaming subscription services on the Internet. As of now, the

From the Editor’s Desk: Why Are There So Many Android Betas?

Android 12 QPR 3 beta 1 isn't a soccer scoreline, but rather the next release of Android 12, following the recent launch of Android 12L on some Pixel devices

Those emoji may not mean what you think

Tennis shoe, smiley face, rocketship, pasta, am I right?