iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

soundbeats mini pro review: Lower price for better sound

These days it's getting easier to save money on what you put in your ears, and that's in large part because budget wireless earbuds remain more competitive.

How to Convert Kindle Books to PDF

Amazon continues to be a leader in e-books thanks to its popular Kindle device and apps. However, due to Digital Rights Management (DRM), you can only open

iQOO 9 Pro has the best in-display fingerprint scanner yet and now I want it in every phone

I reviewed the iQOO 9 Pro a while back here at Android Police, but there's one thing I just can't get over, even a few weeks later. Its ultrasonic in-display

The 8 best applications for Instagram

Instagram is one of the social media with more users worldwide, and since it was launched on the market it has changed significantly, going from being a

Photographing with mobile phones with two, three and even four cameras: which lens to choose in each situation

Mobile phones, to overcome the lack of quality of digital zoom, began to add more and more lenses, with their corresponding sensors, to be able to photograph

Find out whether or not Xiaomi is a reliable phone brand

Xiaomi is one of the most popular mobile brands and even though Xiaomi has many brands, it is recognized for the quality of smartphones it makes and how