iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

How to Change Your IP Address Quickly and Easily

Whether you own a laptop, desktop PC, smartphone, or even a smartwatch, you will be assigned an IP address. This is a unique row of numbers that identifies

Samsung Galaxy S22 ReviewThe Android flagship that matters the most

Samsung's 2022 flagship, the Samsung Galaxy S22 series is the most talked about Android smartphone launch of the year. The vanilla Samsung Galaxy S22 is said

This iPhone 13 Pro deal convinced me to upgrade — and you can still get it

Back in September, I managed to talk myself into buying an iPhone 13 Pro. I decided I'd hold on to my trusty iPhone XS for another year. After offloading apps

Xiaomi Redmi K50 and Xiaomi Redmi K50 Pro: the most extreme power is not exclusive to the premium range

The most powerful mobiles of the Redmi family are already official in China: Xioami has unveiled the Redmi K50 and Redmi K50 Pro in its country, two

This is how a robot learns to improve its movements to adapt to any type of terrain

Robotics has incorporated multiple solutions over the last few years. The improvement of the software systems has served to add new functions and, of course,

Best apps to learn to play drums from iPhone

Battery It is one of the essential instruments within a band and is the main one in charge of marking the rhythm that characterizes each musical genre. It is