iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

Honor MagicBook X14: the notebook you didn’t know you wanted, today at an unbeatable price! You save almost 150 €!

If you've been waiting for the Honor MagicBook X14 to come back on Amazon, so you can buy it at an advantageous price, the time has come! The usual price of €

Babylonian collapse devs have ‘no plans to scale down development’ after Rocky Start

Despite its rocky start, Square Enix has confirmed that it has "no plans to scale back development upon the fall of Babylon."

An old Peugeot Boxer van gutted and turned into this off-grid mobile office

The Nomad Office is a mobile office that transforms an old Peugeot Boxer van into a living space.

Gmail Hack 2022: How To Back Up Your Text Messages From Your Android Phone To Gmail

If you want to keep receipts for your text messages, you can do so by saving a copy to your Gmail account. Luckily, if you back up them at the end, they're

4 Shocking iPhone Tricks by TikToker You Probably Didn’t Know About

Believe it or not, your iPhone can do a lot of tricks you haven't discovered yet. Although you may already know some of them, there are more secret things you