iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

Russia reactivates its trolls and bots ahead of Tuesday’s midterm

The user on Gab who identifies as Nora Burka reappeared in August after a year of silence on the social media platform, reposting a handful of messages with

This is how permissions change in Android 13: notifications, nearby devices, music and more

Google has just published the second Android 13 Developer, or Android Tiramisu, and it comes loaded with new features, including the changes to the way

Best Nest Thermostat Deals for November 2022

If you're looking for a discount on the Google Nest Thermostat, or if you're looking for a Nest Thermostat to pair with another great smart home device, there

These are the best screen protectors for your Google Pixel 7 and 7 Pro

Since last month, the new Google Pixel 7 and 7 Pro have already been on the market and there are many who already have these powerful flagships of the great G

Home automation vs Internet of Things: these are their differences

When we talk about home automation we mean smart devices what we have in the home. For example, light bulbs with Wi-Fi, an oven that connects to the network,

Skyline expands its catalog: you can now play Skyrim, Sniper Elite 4 and more on Android

Since the first Nintendo Switch emulator for Android arrived, we have not stopped receiving good news about its development. With Skyline it is possible play