iOS 16.2 will limit the use of AirDrop with the arrival of “Everyone for 10 minutes”


Nearly final versions of iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 are now available to developers. This means that very soon we will have these new versions among us that will allow us to use all its functionalities such as the Freeform app, the new widgets or the optimization of Live Activities, especially on the iPhone 14 Pro. Apple has also introduced new features in the Release Candidates. One of them is the limitation of the use of AirDrop technology with the elimination of the option to be available to “All” users. This option is replaced by “Everyone for 10 minutes”, as Apple introduced in iOS 16.1.1 in China and promised to do in early 2023.

Apple seeks to protect user privacy by limiting AirDrop in iOS 16.2

AirDrop has changed forever. In fact, it started to change a few weeks ago with the release of iOS 16.1.1 in China. Apple was notified that the Chinese population was using AirDrop to share content against Xi Jinping, the President of the Republic of China, and the Chinese government. It is believed that these dynamics led to the government’s own request to Apple to modify the technology to avoid this type of action against the regime.

Changes to AirDrop came in iOS 16.1.1 and also made it to iOS 16.2 beta 2. Finally, the AirDrop redesign will arrive in iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2. Although Apple announced that this change would arrive globally at the beginning of 2023, it seems that times have gone ahead and we will see it with the launch of these updates that will be throughout the month of December.

airdrop


Related article:

Apple plans to introduce changes to AirDrop to prevent spam

This modification leaves only three options to select within the AirDrop menu:

  • Reception disabled: we cannot send or receive items
  • Only contacts: we can only receive items from our contacts
  • Everyone for 10 minutes: everyone can send us items for 10 minutes

If we have selected Everyone for 10 minutes, When those 10 minutes pass, the option will automatically change to Only contacts. This modification, as we have said, will come to iOS 16.2 and iPadOS 16.2 throughout the month of December.

Remember that before this last option appeared, we had the option of “All” to dry. This option allowed be constantly activated to receive any type of element from any user. This, in the end, was a privacy breach since the user could receive unwanted photos or files although he could decline them through the interface, but it was uncomfortable.


Related News

Xiaomi Memory extension: What is it and why should you have it activated or deactivated on your mobile

With the increase in users every year using smartphones for all kinds of tasks, manufacturers have had to improve their features. With this increase, they

Interview with Atsushi Ohkubo at Lucca Comics and Games 2022

Atsushi Ohkubo is among the guests of Lucca Comics and Games 2022 that we had the opportunity to interview during the kermesse, telling us something more

How to play the new Halloween-themed Google doodle

As expected, Google has recently launched its new doodle, this time in version Halloween 2022so that its users can enjoy a fun game with a "Halloween Day"

Moto G Play 2022 is almost here as new leak sheds light on its design and hardware

The successor to last year's Moto G Play will have some upgrade options

What happened to mobile phones with a 3D screen?

At the beginning of the last decade there was a boom for 3D in films caused at the end of 2009 with the premiere of 'Avatar', whose sequel, 'The Sense of

Nothing Ear Stick vs Nothing Ear (1): More Than Just a Different Charging Case

With little time on the market, the brand Nothing has managed to generate an impact with the launch of each of its products. The Nothing Ear (1) arrived with